Top 3 Rules for Quality Consumer Experiences.

I had to get some work done on my car not too long ago at the BMW dealership on McNeil Road (in North Austin).  This was my second visit and the first time I ended up getting a loaner (see below).

Here are some pictures from the waiting area…


Free Starbucks coffee station for a morning pick me up.


Two flat screens below the kids center.


The waiting area, another flat screen.


BMW movie theater.


BMW T1 (I made that up), Baby Blue.


This bad boy is powered by that new leg engine.


Side profile.


Wall picture.


BMW buzzer. It talks!


Massage chairs, there was a 42″ flat screen up top.


One of six internet hubs.

All in all not a bad way to spend the morning, and look all better…


My Green.

Coming back to the title of this post, the retailer qualities I value most as a consumer in need of service boils down to three things:

  1. Atmosphere.  How I feel when I walk through a retailers doors;
  2. Ease of experience.  Come in with need A, talk to Rep. B, problem solved with C (loaner car, new iPhone, etc); and
  3. Retailer treatment.  I like smiling, friendly (but not too friendly) staff, and staff able to read when I want their help or when I’m just making up my mind (this is an art).

I’m certainly not reinventing the wheel here but it’s amazing that some retailers still don’t get it.  Add the both Austin Apple Stores to my favorite consumer experience locations as well.

//A.J.

One Comment on “Top 3 Rules for Quality Consumer Experiences.”

  1. Donnie says:

    That’s a nice BMW waiting area. The BMW dealership around here has 6 chairs facing the receptionist desk and an old coffee pot. Hell, Jiffy Lube is nicer. Really, the bottled water is kept behind the counter and then, it is generic water. Unlike the Lexus dealership, where I can steal enough water and snacks to last through a hurricane.


Leave a Reply

