One Bad Habit I Need to Break.

Borrring.

I have a bad habit.  Whenever I get bored I turn to my iPhone.  Bored waiting for movie to start, iPhone.  Bored standing in line at the (insert venue), iPhone.  Bored sitting around the home, iPhone.

I know that the iPhone, and other smart phones, are so much more than just phones; they are mini-entertainment devices.  However I wonder whatever happened to using your mind to escape boredom?  What ever happened to basking in the boredom?

For me the real problem is not so much being bored, but feeling any instance of boredom and automatically it seems pulling out my iPhone as the solution.  As a child I had vivid day dreams.  This was my great escape from boredom because I had no other mental distraction (thanks parents for not purchasing a Game Boy or Game Gear for me).  Mind you during certain times I have a lot things going on that require a heightened iPhone vigilance, but generally that is not the case.

Lately I’ve been working on breaking this habit, starting with when I’m sitting in traffic on North Mopac (in Austin, TX), or waiting for less than a minute for my morning pick me up at Thunderbird Coffee.  I’m just taking this one day at a time.  Hopefully I’ll have it broken by Thanksgiving, but then I’ll probably be getting the iPhone 3G for Christmas, which will most likely put me back at square one.

//A.J.

Photo Credit

6 Comments on “One Bad Habit I Need to Break.”

  1. maren says:

    welllll since my blackberry was stolen and i’ve had a HORRIBLY ridiculous time getting my replacement….i finished 2 books. so hopefully when i finally get it back i won’t rely on it so very much.

  2. linda says:

    i don’t believe in boredom 🙂
    i think i get bored once every six months?

    though i don’t spend a lot of time daydreaming and basking in boredom. i just… fill my life with a lot of projects, a lot of activity, and a lot of people.

    there’s so much to do and see, why be bored!?

    • A.J. says:

      Point well taken Linda! It’s not so much boredom as micro-burst of boredom. Those less than a minute instances that seem to drag on because we’ve become so accostumed to immediacy, or a close approximation of it, in our lives.

  3. Thanks for your post! I believe that we all have a bad habit or two that we would like to get rid of. It is much easier to do if we will have a little perseverance, willpower and determination. Try doing things that are more productive during your not-so-busy hours.

    http://growingwithtruth.com/blog/68/how-to-break-a-bad-habit/

    • A.J. says:

      Very true. I’m an early riser, usually getting up at 5 AM. I use that time as my me time to tool around and whatnot before the day gets started. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

