Would You Trade?

Reflection "I" by VisualAge.
Photo Credit

This ties in to an earlier post.  Did you ever play the game as a kid where, in a group, you would go around saying whose life you would want if you could trade with any person in the world?  Generally this game, what I call a  “wondering game” (Ex. What _____ would you like to have if any in the world), took place when there is some mundane activity to be done, or on long bus/car rides.

Anyway, while doing some outside work, one of my guys got this game started and asked me who I would trade with.  Off the top of my head I think I said the founder of Facebook (power and influence, but still generally anonymous to the general public) and maybe Diddy because I, along with most guys in their 20’s (if not older), harbor some sort of “party like a rockstar fantasy.”  However, after I got through those two and my reasoning, I realized honestly I wouldn’t want to trade with anyone.

It’s not that I wouldn’t mind being rich and famous, but where is the fun in jumping into another’s shoes?  For one thing I like challenge, striving for some sort of innovation, striving to move ahead in my profession, the drudgery, the triumph, and everything in between.  Also, and this comes maturity and prospective, but everyone, EVERYONE has problems.  Just because you don’t see them doesn’t mean they’re not there.  It’s all relative.  While my life my not feel especially spectacular to me (saying that only as an example because my life is spectacular), to someone else it may be.

What it boils down to is this, I know my problems.  I’ve had my entire life to deal with them.  I know, generally, what I have to face on a given day and am comfortable with tackling those issues and those that pop up.

What about you?

//A.J.

“If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
Take A Look At Yourself, And
Then Make A Change”
– Michael Jackson, Man in the Mirror
5 Comments on “Would You Trade?”

  1. linda says:

    i’d trade with oprah!!!!

  2. I like the way your blog has such a personal perspective – I suppose all of them should! Thanks for dropping by my site, and I am definitely glad I dropped by yours!

  3. A.J. says:

    Arthur,

    Thank you! It’s a two-way street for me. Also, as I’ve just started my professional life, my personal perspective comes through more in my writing.

  4. linda says:

    AJ,
    I’m going through withdrawal. I request an update.

    – Linda 🙂


Leave a Reply

