Dream Records.

A Sleeping Cherub in Babyland by musicmuse_ca.
Photo credit

Lately there’s been a new addition to my early morning routine.  Instead of popping out of bed, usually before my 5 AM alarm goes off, and gearing up for the gym and a quick bowl of Kashi, I’ve started to write down my dreams.  No, not my ambitions and aspirations for life, but the raw footage of my subconscious.  The stuff drawn up from REM sleep.

After 26 years, I have a pretty good understanding of the way I think , at least when I’m awake.  Even my day-dreams are largely tied to active thoughts.  But what goes on up in my head when no more sensory input is coming in?  When the day’s thoughts are mixed together with my subconscious?

I’ve only started this dream journal last week, so there’s no trend or themes I can see yet.  I have found though that with each entry comes a greater recall, down to minute details.  That’s a start.  It’s the little things I’m particularly curious about.

I wish I had done this earlier and don’t know why it never occurred to me before.  I generally track what I eat, my workouts, and numerous other areas of my life, so why not my dreams?  It will be very interesting to look back on this in a year, or whenever I come to the end of the journal.

//A.J.

p.s.  I think it would be very cool to read the dream journals of your parents and grandparents when they were your age.  I’d be curious to see if there were commonalities on a generational level.

p.s.s. Kid Cudi’s “Soundtrack 2 My Life” is a sweet track!

4 Comments on “Dream Records.”

  1. David Wogan says:

    This is a great idea, AJ! It’s motivation for me to start recording my own dreams. I’ve actually had some pretty intense dreams the past few nights. I wonder what kind of patterns of recurring themes will emerge?

  2. A.J. says:

    It’s interesting huh? I think also it’s just as cathartic as writing down your thoughts at day’s end. For me anyways, elements of my dreams sometimes stick with me during the course of the day. It feels good to start the day off a clean mental slate as well.

  3. Sarah Kealin says:

    Love this! I have a “life book” that I sometimes write dreams in. I also write down things like phone numbers, directions, random stuff I don’t want to forget, bumper stickers I think are funny, etc. Like a picture-diary-planner if there were such a thing. It took a bit but I did start to see trends with my dreams, but moreso when I looked at the things going on in my life and the people I was talking to (work and personal) regularly. Pretty cool. It’s fun to see what your mind does when you’re not paying attention.

    also- amazing pic.

    • A.J. says:

      There actually is such a thing as a picture journal. Check my friend Linda’s (at Curious Notions) post on her extensive journal collection. I started one of those in August, with appropriate captions as needed. And about the picture, thanks! My friend Meljan took it at Kerby Lane on Guadalupe.


Leave a Reply

