Chasing Solitude

“You should go some place after the [Texas] bar,” my mother said over brunch.  Immediately I said “Marfa, TX.”  My parents looked a little confused, I think because they were expecting someplace coastal, not 500 miles from Austin in the middle of nowhere West, Texas.  But nowhere looks pretty good right now.
____
I think because I’ve forgotten what it’s like to come home to silence, and maintain that silence for as long as I chose.
Mother then asked, “by yourself?”  Me, “most likely, maybe, probably, who knows.”  Time away would be good, with someone else, it depends.  A lot can happen in four months.
____
I read a GQ (or another men’s glossy) article a few months ago about a writer who totally cut himself off from the world by booking passage on cargo ships.  It’s not as extreme as it sounds, but definitely something I will consider down the road.
____
Right now though this is where I want to get away post-Bar, the Thunderbird.  I like their Tbird Retreat described as followed:
Soak in the West Texas inspiration. Write, photograph, dream and build. Stay any day and we’ll include unlimited sessions with our vintage typewriter, bottomless supplies of paper, a Lomolito camera, a turntable and all the vinyl you’d want, bicycle rentals, and daily (and frequent) coffee delivery to your door.

____

It’s been one year and seven months since I’ve come back to Austin, the longest I’ve been home since I left for Wake Forest.  The difference between now and then, besides law school loans and increased maturity, is that there is break from home.
____
Home was once a place to stay for holidays, or summers, which in my mind were like extended-vacations.  Now it is all there is.  Not that I have any reason to complain!  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed being back, in more ways than I thought.  I’m just still adjusting.

//A.J
2 Comments on “Chasing Solitude”

  1. melissa says:

    nice post, aj! (see, i do too read your blog.)

    ps — i thought i was the only one who refers to/calls my mom Mother.

  2. A.J. says:

    Nope you are not alone! I’ve gotten increasingly formalized in my old age.


Leave a Reply

