The Grind Towards Inner Peace.

Fingertips through salt and pepper. by Dunny.Photo Credit

“See the Lord adore me, he met me halfway
No guts, no glory I always say
So until I reach what I came here to find
Along with inner peace life will always be a grind.”

Down and Out, Kid Cudi

The above lyrics from have been on my mind the last few weeks, since I first heard the song on Imeem MySpace Music.

Lyrics can resonate with your life.  When you’re feeling love, love songs seem written for your EXACT situation.  On the flip-side when things aren’t going well with the lady, or guy, you hear that one song like you’ve never heard it before.  And so on.

Addressing the first two lines above, I have faith in something greater than myself.  Not so much guiding me, but providing me the spirit to endure and overcome towards my goals.  Allowing me the boldness to seize opportunities as they are afforded to me; and sometimes for me to create.

The last to lines though really stick though.  They sum up the journey I am on.  Not to an end, a position, or title, but a feeling.  That search is at the core of everything I do.

My life post-law school has been turbulent.  A mix of uncertainty, but with a gut-feeling of purpose, and focus.

The visualization representative of this feeling is the ship captain trying to find land in the mist of a storm.  He knows the general direction, but he’s aiming for home and not the reef, which will sink him.  The port he seeks is out there.  And then through the spray, he sees glimpses of light over the waves, lighthouse beams, letting him know he is almost there.

Come to think of it, that image brings to mind “Invictus.”

But I digress.

Uncertainty is the reality.  High waves, over which, sometimes, I see my future.  It sucks that it has to be this way, but what other choice is there but to press on?  I guess you could quit, but where is the fun in that?  No challenge what-so-ever.

That isn’t an option, at least for me. Fortes fortuna adiuvat.

So my search continues.  Inner peace, once attained is hard to shake.  About as difficult as it is to attain the first place.

Until I reach that point it will be a daily grind, of course with a smile on my face.

//A.J.

2 Comments on “The Grind Towards Inner Peace.”

  1. linda says:

    you think inner peace, once attained is hard to shake?

    i think it’s one of those things that if you’re lucky to attain it, you have to do a lot of upkeep to keep it.

    kind of like working out.

    of course I’m just hypothesizing because I haven’t achieved inner peace, ever.


Leave a Reply

