Hola 2k10, Au revoir 2k9.

Turn To Clear Vision by .: Philipp Klinger :..Photo Credit

(Note: This was posted 12/31/09, I need to adjust the time setting!)

Presents are (always) great, but nothing ever beat that anticipation of going trying sleep on Christmas Eve.  As I’ve gotten older that anticipation dulled.  But never for New Years Eve.

I have that childish sense of anticipation now.  There is something new right around the corner; 2010, new and unknown.

Like a lot of people I paused this week and took stock of 2009.  What did I do right?  What did I do wrong?  What could I have done better?

Hindsight is 20/20.  And life seems a lot clearer now that you’ve made it over all the bumps (for the year anyways).

Resolutions came to mind, but  I decided against them.  I have goals.  Substantive goals  for this year and life, until I drop.  I ‘d rather just show you what I can accomplish, though.  Also, this post by Derek Sivers dissuaded me from wanting to share.

The just of the post is this quote:

Announcing your plans to others satisfies your self-identity just enough that you’re less motivated to do the hard work needed.

So, I promise in 2010, as I knock through (or am close to knocking through) my goals, I’ll share them here.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

//A.J.

P.s. My song for 2010 (currently) is Drown In the Now by The Crystal Method ft. Matisyahu.  I defy you not to get pumped!

4 Comments on “Hola 2k10, Au revoir 2k9.”

  1. I like the fact that you mention goals and not resolutions. Sometimes I have to say goals because resolution isn’t for me. It’s more so “goals” that are made every new year, but I find that sometimes that are not accomplished. It’s like creating resolution to solve or fix something that hasn’t gone the right path in 2009 or later. Often times, I feel that we should stick with what we say and not really say something and let it fade in the background. Great post!

  2. A.J. says:

    Thanks Kelvin! Yeah to me it’s like saying, “2010 is my year!” Forget all that. My year is NOW.

  3. Ari says:

    I love that picture. So pretty.

    And I’m all about the goals too. Woohoo! Best of luck in 2k10!


Leave a Reply

