TED BINGE, MMMM

[365] 096 by Corie Howell.Photo Credit

Where do you go when you’re looking for inspiration?  I’ve found a lot by way of TED.

TED (taken from the website) is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design.

I’ve been on a TED binge lately.  Looking for new ideas.  Ideas about things that I have a decent grasp on, and things I have a superficial understanding of, at best.

The point, though, for me is broadening what I know, even if it’s only cursory.  When my mind starts trying to understand, is when the connections start to happen, is when I get inspired.

New ideas + Connections = Inspiration.

Here are 11 TED speakers I’ve listened to in the past week that have got me thinking:

Check them out and let me know your thoughts.  Also, where do you find inspiration.  I’m always looking for new avenues!

//A.J.

7 Comments on “TED BINGE, MMMM”

  1. Charles says:

    Are you going to try to go to TEDxAustin in February? I already filled out my application to attend. http://www.tedxaustin.com/

    • A.J. says:

      I won’t be able to make it, I got the Texas bar that following week. So I’ll be buried in a hole someplace, crying err studying err, cramming.

  2. David Wogan says:

    One of my favorite TED Talks was by JJ Abrams. He talked about smart design and how he writes his stories. I enjoyed it a lot.

    Phillipe Starck’s was great, too.

  3. TED is an amazing concept. I organised a pre-event for their TEDGlobal conference in Oxford last year; fascinating people, and they make you think like nothing else! Love their talk recordings for those not fortunate to attend them all.

  4. A.J. says:

    Agreed! Attending either conference, state-side or at Oxford, is on my to-do list (somewhere down the road). My friend Charles informed me that Austin is hosting a TEDx event, a localized TED event. Unfortunately I will not be able to attend. I’ll have to make do with talk recordings for a bit longer.


Leave a Reply

